Articles

Katie Johns

Monday, April 14: Read and analyze the following poems: "Dover Beach" and "The Dover B**ch"

Tuesday, April 15: Read articles and create outline for Performance Final

Wednesday, April 16: Performance Final

Thursday, April 17: Introduction to Dystopian literature; Senior Memory Book due

Friday, April 18: Begin watching "The Hunger Games" trilogy and identify which type(s) of dystopian controls and characteristics are used to oppress citizens of Panem.

 

Monday, April 21: Assign Graduation Speech. Continue watching "The Hunger Games."

Tuesday, April 22: Listen to Graduation Speech samples. Finish watching "The Hunger Games" and begin watching the second film in the trilogy - "Catching Fire."

Wednesday, April 23: Continue watching "Catching Fire."

Thursday, April 24: Finish watching "Catching Fire" in periods 1, 2, 3. Senior Carnival periods 4, 5, 6, 7.

Friday, April 25: Finish watching "Catching Fire" in periods 5th and 7th. Senior Walk periods 1, 2, 3.

Katie Johns

 

This year is my 9th year at Mill Creek teaching British literature and writing. My favorite writers are Shakespeare and the Romantic poets. I have also taught literature and composition at North Georgia College and Georgia Gwinnett College. Originally from Montana, I have lived in Jackson Hole, Wyoming and Seattle, Washington. I earned my B.A from the University of Montana and my M.A.T in Secondary English from Agnes Scott College. My daughter, Gabi, graduated from Mill Creek and attends the University of Montana where she is studying marketing and communication. In my personal time, I endurance train for an Ironman triathlon, and have raced at Ironman Canada twice, Ironman Hawaii, Ironman Coeur d'Alene, and Ironman Wales.

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Attachments:
FileDescription
Download this file (British Lit syllabus Spring 2014.docx)British Lit syllabus Spring 2014.docxSyllabus